art · creative practice · grace · inspiration · prayer

Leap Day Art

“Sweet February Twenty-Nine!-

This is our grace-year, as I live

Quick, now! this foolish heart of mine;

Seize thy prerogative!” – Walter De La Mare

imageDear friend,

let me share to you my art from my heart. Above is a piece of my soul’s work in honor of the leap day this year. The process was intuitive. I worked on an old painting on watercolor paper. I chose colors of paints and materials that sings to me at the moment. Made marks. Wrote some words. Repeat.

To trust. That is what I did.

I don’t know about you, but I feel called to celebrate this extra special day this year that won’t happen again until the next four years. And what’s more better way of celebrating than a painting party before bedtime? 🙂

Here’s a prayer I love which I discovered in the book, Simple Abundance(fave all-year book!) by Sarah Ban Breathnach. It is a prayer of grace by writer Marjorie Holmes:

“Just For Today”

Oh, God, give me grace for this day. Not for a lifetime, nor for next week, nor for tomorrow, just for this day. Direct my thoughts and bless them, Direct my work and bless it. Direct the things I say and give them blessing, too. Direct and bless everything that I think and speak and do. So that for this one day, just this one day, I have the gift of grace that comes from your presence…

I believe that this year is a year of grace. May we always remember to seek and ask  for grace, with a grateful heart. Always and always. Asking has a power in it.

And so this very moment, grace is what I am sending to you.

with love and beautiful grace,

Anab

 

 

Leave a Reply

