Uncategorized

Gratitude Week: Day 1

In my day job last week, an office mate interrupted our conversation all of a sudden to tell me that she saw a drawing of mine in my Facebook. She said, she loved it and that she wanted to place two of my works in her bedroom. I was blown away. I don’t even know how to respond. But I was smiling. I feel like the river of joy flowed through me. I know she felt it too, on the other line. We are having our conversation over the phone by the way.

Shortly after our conversation, I sent her a message via email. Thanking her for sharing how she felt and her interest in my works. I told her how deeply I was touched. And that it was such an honor to have my work loved by her.

It did not end there though, my office mate returned an email and told me she’s got goosebumps and that she looks up to people who paints (or maybe express themselves creatively). She ended her missive saying that she would be buying a bigger piece in the future for her living room and that she’s already starting to save.

Whoa!

I don’t have words to describe how I felt reading those words even at this very moment. That message. I felt like I was on the outside witnessing the exchange of words. I wonder what it is that I am feeling. I know I am not just happy. I was not just excited. I think I am not excited. But I think I felt what peace is like.

At that moment, I just wanted to reflect on what is happening.

I’m thinking,

“So this is how it works. Collaborating with the Great Creator feels like this.”

“This is not just my work.”

“I am just an instrument, producing a melody. Doing, creating, giving birth to the inner light that is already deep within me.”

I wonder,

“So, I don’t even know how to react when someone show admiration of the work that came through me?”

What is this feeling?

What is this kind of situation?

Am I over thinking? Why don’t I just enjoy it and be grateful?

Yes! Why not!

Leave a Reply

